Curried Sweet Potato Hash

After returning home from North Carolina, I’ve been busy getting back into the swing of things in Syracuse; which also means I’ve been living off of Panera, Hummus, Luna Bars, and of course Taco Bell. Thankfully, now that I’ve had a chance to breathe, today was the first day back in my kitchen! I really, really love to cook, so needless to say I was pretty excited when I realized I had months of unread magazine subscriptions to Clean Eating. Unfortunately, I still haven’t found the time to read them leisurely, but I did stumble across a delicious looking sweet potato and chicken dishI decided to put my own twist on the recipe and make some curried sweet potato hash just to shake things up a bit.

Ingredients

Key Players: Rosemary, Smoked Paprika, and Curry Powder. The sweet potatoes didn’t make it into the picture. Clearly this blogging thing is a work in progress.

Ingredients (makes 6 servings)

  • 3 sweet potatoes, peeled and diced into 1/4″ cubes
  • 1/2 cup yellow onion, finely diced
  • 2 tsp. extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tbsp. chopped fresh rosemary
  • 1/2 tsp. smoked paprika
  • 1/2 tsp. curry powder
  • 1/4 tsp. sea salt

Directions

Rosemary Potatoes Onions

Heat olive oil over medium heat and add potatoes, onions, and rosemary to the skillet. Cook for 15-20 minutes until potatoes are softened and browned.

Rosemary Potato Hash

Add the salt, curry powder, paprika and toss to coat all the potatoes. Cook for 2-3 minutes and then enjoy!

If spicy isn’t your thang, don’t be put off by this. I thought this tasted more “smokey” than spicy, but I have a pretty high spice tolerance, so my palette could be skewed–consider yourselves warned. If you’re weary, you can easily swap out some of the spices and add whatever you have in your kitchen that is more to your liking.

Bottom Line: So yummy and simple! The best part is that it only calls for 5 ingredients (salt and olive oil are what I call “freebies” since I always have them on hand). It was a perfect complement to the Turkey Meatloaf Muffins I made courtesy of Pinterest. I will definitely be enjoying these again very soon.

Nutritional Analysis (per serving): 85 calories/2 g fat/16 g carbohydrates

Do any of you have easy 5 ingredient (or less) dishes that you would like to share? I’m always looking for some sort of variation! Post in the comments below 🙂

Leave a Reply

